Grindleton C.E. Primary School

Grow and Shine in God’s Glory


We deliver a curriculum which is tailored to suit the individual needs of our children, ensuring they receive the essential foundations in preparation for future success. We believe that Early Years education should be as practical as possible and therefore we are proud that our EYFS curriculum has an underlying ethos of enquiry based learning in an enabling environment.



Our curriculum encompasses seven areas of learning and development. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected.


Three areas are particularly important for building a foundation for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, forming relationships, and thriving.

These are called the prime areas:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social, and emotional development.

Four areas help children to strengthen and apply the prime areas.

These are called the specific areas:

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

Throughout their time in EYFS our children partake in an ambitious curriculum which is designed in a sequential way to ensure progress towards the end of Reception goals. These goals are defined as Early Learning Goals (ELGs)


Pupils learn through a balance of child-initiated and adult-led activities. Pupils are provided with a wide range of opportunities to engage in ‘exploration’ throughout a variety of experiences, which are carefully planned and enhanced to engage and challenge them in continuous provision. The curriculum is planned for the inside classroom and the outside area and is planned in a cross-curricular way to enable all aspects of the children’s development.